In spite of the growth of technology in the area of agriculture, food production fails to meet human demand Why is this the case and what ways could this be tackled?

Despite the positive impact modern technologies have had on agriculture, the supply of food production has not been commensurate to human demand. Whereas, this issue could be adduced to one major reason, this essay would proffer a possible solution to this problem. One major problem why food is insufficient for consumption is due to excessive exportation of most goods produced. Indeed, farmers sell most of their farm produce, even before it is harvested, in exchange for foreign currencies. Statistics on Farmdux website, one of the foremost agricultural agency for instance, shows that 85 per cent of locals cocoa farmers have affiliations with foreign companies, who not only fund and monitor these crops but buy them off once it is ready for harvesting. This shows that only 15 percent of these farm products are left to be sold within the country. Against this backdrop, it is necessary that government and organizational agencies responsible, sets export limit for all farm goods produced within the country. This is to curtail extreme movement of food meant for local consumption. To drive this point home, XYZ plc, an agency meant for monitoring imports and exports of food products in Canada, mandated all local farmers to export only 25 percent of all production while 75 percent is sold and distributed to buyers within the country. This policy has ensured there is surplus food supply for all people On the whole, the use of information technology in agriculture as not increased food production for humans. While, there are obvious reasons for these food shortages, I believe implementing necessary checks to cut down on the amount of food products exported, will not only yield positive results but also improve social welfare of humans