In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

In present-day world there still exist countries and areas where famine is widespread, despite the fact that, in general, farming methods have improved in the last century. There are a number of climatic, social and political factors for that. On the one hand, the weather patterns have changed dramatically and areas which are struck by natural disasters such as floods and drought cannot rely on food grown there since it is frequently destroyed. In turn, people need to purchase food which they might not be able to afford due to the rise in prices. Consequently, famine sets in. Moreover, the countries could be unstable politically, with social disturbances and even local wars. Therefore the poor part of the population may not have the resources to provide for their families. On the other hand, there is too much food which is thrown in the rubbish containers by restaurants and supermarkets. Obviously, it points to a big imbalance in comparison with the hunger spread in different parts of the world. Nevertheless, this could be changed if managers are trained properly in food management. As a result, such food can go to hospitals, kindergartens or charities that can distribute it to famine-stricken zones. In conclusion, I am certain that when there is a will, there is a way. If governments do not care only about profits and pay more attention to their own people, then famine can be reduced considerably. Little can be done against nature. However, the rest is a matter of desire and care.