Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays many big cities are notorious for suffering from congestion and smog as well as other environment related issues. These serious problems give rise to ideas according to which all this might be dealt with higher prices of petrol. However, such steps will only increase social discontent and living expenses in general. It is true that people are gasping for fresh air amidst all fumes coming from exhaust pipes. Indeed, heavy traffic is accountable for a big proportion of the pollution. Nevertheless, people who are used to travelling by car will find it difficult to adapt. Even if they begin to use public transport, decrease in air pollution will only be slight. Due to their busy schedules, most citizens need a car in order to cope with the load of the tasks they have. Undoubtedly, other means have to be used such as car-free zones, planting of trees which will reduce carbon dioxide in the air, ban for vehicles which are too old and not eco-friendly as well as giving commuters incentives to use public transport. In addition, more bicycle lanes should be built and some streets could be turned into pedestrian-only. Furthermore, electric cars seem to be a good solution. However, they will not be affordable for everyone until they become mass produced and their price falls. To conclude, I am in favour of eco-oriented measures which must be taken in order to tackle environment issues and in turn improve the quality of life in general. Needless to say, these changes should be long-lasting, implemented gradually, without causing social conflicts and beneficial to society.