In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Over the years, with the advancement of agricultural technology, a huge amount of food has been wasted, instead of being consumed in developed countries. Ironically, in some developing countries, people are dying of hunger or suffering from chronic malnutrition. From my perspective, the main reason behind the issue is poverty, and the issue could be addressed by humanitarian aid. The issue of starvation stems from destitution without a shadow of a doubt. In other words, the less access to wealth, the higher the possibilities people encounter food shortage. Numerous reasons that bring about the problem ranging from political instability to geographical location in Ethiopia. Take Yemen as an example, people are in hunger pangs and live below the poverty line because the country is usually in war, and thus a huge amount of money needs to invest in wars instead of directing to livelihood economy. Another example is Ethiopia where the country is often regarded as emblematic of poverty. Droughts and water crisis have contributed to the nation’s poor economic status. Therefore, it is unlikely for poverty-stricken countries to develop skills or build infrastructure associating with agriculture. The optimal solution to fight famine would be humanitarian aid, and several approaches can achieve this goal. First, food assistance, including emergency feeding, necessities, and agricultural machines or food can be delivered to the abject poverty countries via donation. Moreover, diagnosis and treatment of malnutrition through fundraising, the funds should be directed towards local food-producing industries and hospitals or clinics in developing and distributing more nutritious food products to the poor. Besides, as for some remote area water may not be readily available, and thus water shortage is the biggest concern for them. To cope with the predicament, enlisting experts in related fields is essential for improving water, hygiene, and sanitation to prevent water-related diseases. In this regard, clean water can be provided for drinking and irrigation in the needy regions. In conclusion, most people nowadays are agreed on the term “global village”, but we still witness a multitude of people succumbing to malnutrition or dying of hunger. Being part of global villagers, we should exert humanitarian activities such as donations or fundraising in the dire poverty regions.