In some societies, stress is now regarded as a major problem, and it is thought that people suffer from more stress than they did in the past. However, others feel that the amount of stress people have today is exaggerated. They say that previous generations were under more pressure, but the idea of suffering from stress did not exist.

Some believe that stress is one of the most concerning and alerting topics in some societies, and people are carrying more stress than they used to be. Nevertheless, from another perspective, some reckon that people in the previous generations were living with insensible stress compared to this modern society. Personally, I believe that the definition of stress is not the same for different generations. In the past, people were more concentrated on earning money for their family as they were a big family with lots of children. Therefore, some people were working from the time when the sun hasn’t risen until it has set for a long time, they worked hard for their children, siblings and old parents. Take Vietnam's previous society as an example, my cousin was living in a family with sixteen siblings, she was the oldest hence she carried a huge burden since very young, worked for many jobs at the same time, earning money for their younger siblings. However, many people at that generation reckoned they were satisfied with their lives as it was full of happiness even though they were suffering exhausting days. On the other hand, in this modern society, where people are becoming more competitive, the definition of their stress is to be competing to survive in this society. There are still some people working for many jobs, but their purpose is to achieve goals for their own life since nowadays, every human has to be responsible for their own living conditions. From my perspective, stress exists in every generation, as long as they are responsible for their life, stress plays a vital role in our own life. It shows that we are having our goals that we can achieve, and we are trying our best for it even though things won’t go as we want.