advantages and disadvantages of graduate students working abroad

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly common for many graduate students in developing countries to work abroad. This essay will look at both the pros and cons of working abroad and I will try to draw some conclusions. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of working abroad. First of all, people are more likely to receive more salary with fewer working hours and are therefore able to provide for their family. Moreover, having a chance to work overseas may allow them to spend more quality time with their friends. Additionally, people are able to explore a new country. As a result, they can learn to live with people from different cultural backgrounds, which improves cross-cultural understanding. Finally, working with foreigners, people will gain more knowledge and experience. They can also learn a new language, which can be a stepping stone for their future careers. Despite these advantages, there are some drawbacks which need to be considered. Firstly, working overseas will make people feel homesick and lonely as they need to leave everything behind in their own countries. Consequently, there will be no family to discuss problems with and have to make decisions on their own. There can also be communication difficulties in making new foreign friends. Moreover, people have to spend much money on accommodation and food. Lastly, cultural shock may be one of the challenges in working abroad as people need to adapt to fit into a new culture. However, these disadvantages are not permanent and people will overcome after a few months. In conclusion, there are clearly both positives and negatives to graduate students working overseas. While going abroad can be a great experience and lead to a better lifestyle, for many people there are some difficulties to cope with. In my opinion, the benefits undoubtedly outweigh any negatives.