In some parts of the world, it is becoming increasingly popular to try to find out about the history of your family. Why do people do this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, the study of family history has become very popular especially after the coming of internet. There are various reasons regarding above phenomenon. I believe that positive development outweigh negative development. Some individuals argue that, collecting information about genetic diseases through the study of family history, consequently, they can cure particular health issue such as diabetes, heart problem and some forms of cancer. For example, during the survey it was found that 60% of disease are present through DNA of their parents or ancestors. Moreover, some people studying their family history to know about their roots or finding an ancestors. These kind of thinks are more popular in North America. Apart from that, another reason to find out their living relatives and cousins. The ability to trace living relatives can be also be important in tracing an heir or beneficiary. For instance, with the help of internet people are finding their relatives. On the other hand, there are a number of demerits of studying family background. First, genealogy begin as a curiosity, which become hobby and then turn as an obsession. For example, if person fails to find history of family, then they become angry and aggressive too. To add in it, people generally waste lot of time on searching family history. One people should not forget it is a present, which influence the future not a past. To encapsulate, I reiterate my opinion that benefit are more than drawback of studying the history of the family.