A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits.

Undoubtedly, civilians are the priority of government itself by ensuring their needs as well as safety. Whereas, it is thought by many people that government should utilize the money more in defense rather than for the welfare of the citizens. However, this essay will shed light on both notions and would give my rational views that government should made an investment for the betterment of armed forces as well as do the needful for the residents of the country. A powerful government is that which has the ability to make their defense strong in case of any emergency and for that they invest their capital into useful ammunitions, fighter jets, weapons and defending protective gears. Government also takes care of the individuals involved in defense forces and provides so many benefits to their families by constructing army schools, government quarters, free trainings and government jobs after retirement from armed forces. For instance, the first batch of five Rafale jets arrived in India in 2020 from France nearly 4 years after Indian government had signed the agreement of the aircraft at a cost of 50, 000 crores. This investment was over the top but its worth to make a strong addition into the defense. On the other hand, state always provides new policies to increase social benefits for the commoners. Government is launching new schemes for the workers like Employee State Insurances, Provident funds, Pensions, Subsidies and many more just to fulfill the essentials of food, shelter and bread. To exemplify, during Covid-19 pandemic, governments of all over the world manages to provide all the essential goods like groceries and medicines as well as online banking and insurances were for great help. Each government invests a big amount on Covid-19 vaccine to ensure the well-being of their people. To conclude, from my book of knowledge, government is very well known about what is suitable for the country. Ministry of state using their wisdom to invest into such sectors where there is a scope to recover. In a nutshell, government is using their noodles at its best for the betterment of both.