In some cultures, the old ages is more valued, while in some cultures the youth is more valued.

There has been an increasingly growing interest in social welfare for the old in the recent years. While many people argue that the old play a pivotal role to the development of a nation, there still remain some disagreements as to whether the authorities should concentrate on developing the youth or taking care of the old. Overall, it is my personal view that either the old or the young are of equal importance. On the one hand, the old people contribute to the development of a country in terms of their experience. It is an indisputable fact that were it not for the old, there wouldn’t be the young, particularly the well-educated young generation. Even though statements saying that the old are unable to work so it is useless to have excessive care for the old are somehow true, their views on society and economy cannot be easily replace by the young who lack hands-on experience. On the other hand, thanks to enthusiasm, good education and health, the youth can bring a large number of benefits to the rapidly changing society. With their professional knowledge in diverse fields, the youth are without doubt essential to the innovation and growth of the economy of a nation. Take the case of Japan as a salient example, due to the aging population which causes to the shortage of workforce, they are facing ever low economic growth. By way of conclusion, I once again affirm my position that both the old and the young exert positive impact on society at large. In the years to come, I do believe that proper policy should be adopted for the sake of looking after the old but not forgetting the youth to balance between the income and expenditures of a nation.