In some cultures, children are often told that they can anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of glving children this message?

Raising a child is a complex and delicate duty, especially in nowadays society where the rate of competitivness is extremely high. Therefore, finding ways to encourage children to do their best, without giving them too much pressure, is an abality that requires balance. There are people who believe that children should be told that if they work hard, they will succeed, while there are others who find that this approach causes negative effects on children. An argument presented by the supporters of the advantages of this practice is that children who have been taught that their hard work will pay them back at one point, tend to have an high self-esteem, as they believe that, even if they don't get what they want in that moment, they just have to work harder next time and they eventually succeed. Moreover, this attitude result in a less fear in trying more challenges. As a result, the chances of being successfull would rise along with a more propositive grasping of opportunities. Although, this attitude can also cause many disadvanteges. First, children might feel overwhelmed with pressure and depression, as a lack in achievement could make them feel a failure. As a matter of fact, pursuing this method of encouragement, can lead to too many expectations that, when unfulfilled, cause a feeling of insufficiency in kids' mind. In conclusion, it is evident to everybody that promising children they will be successfull by doing their best, can have both advantages and disadvantages in light of the fact that some of them might feel more confident wherease others might believe their abilities are not enough to compete with others.