In some countries, physical education is a compulsory subject for the leaving certificate. Some people suggest that this practice be abolished? Which view do you agree with? Explain your choice, using specific reasons and details.

It is irrefutable that education and health are inextricably linked and therefore in certain parts of the world PE has become a mandatory subject. Some people opine that this is a wrong approach and thus PE must have no role to play in obtaining the leaving certificate. However, this opinion is not straightforward and in the following paragraphs I shall give some arguments to support my point of view. Making PE a compulsary subect has several advantages. First of all, obesity has become an ever-increasing epidemic among school children. This is mainly because school canteens offer fast food and soft drinks which are known to be rich in saturated fat and sugar. This in turn has depressing effects on pupils and therefore keeping students physically active should be the number one priority of all schools. For this reason, PE has to be in the list of compulsory subjects and affect the overall score of the certificate so that school students will not be able to take the subject for granted. Moreover, this practice may have benefits on teenagers’ overall wellbeing as well. It is apparent that school students tend to lead lazy and inactive lifestyles as many of them overindulge in video games or social networking sites. Alas, it impacts not only their pysical but also their mental health. According to the research conducted by the US Healthcare Assosciation nearly 45 % of school students develop poor posture, spinal disorders such as scoliosis, kyphosis or lordosis. Furthermore, most of them suffer from high level of anxiety and distress. This is why encouraging psycial exercise among them will definitely have positive effects on their general health and productivity. Thus, the only way to encourage students to take sport classes seriously is to make the subject obligatory and conduct regular mid-term exams to assess their knowledge and level of fitness. In conclusion, despite the fact that PE has been considered to be an insignificant subject for quite many years, this approach has to be changed since the health of students suffer. The optimum solution is to treat the subect like other core disciplines such as math or science.