In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the anventages and disadvantages of that.

There are many cultures which encourage kids to be diligent and achievie the things that they want by working hard. I suppose there is both pros and cons of that approach. The major benefit of that would be forcing children to take the initiative, however the main drawback is that it makes childern isolated from their own world. On the on hand by teaching young to work really hard for something they want to have parents can make them get used to not taking anything for granted. That would be the greatest lesson for their future lifes and serves as reminder to be patient in hard times. For example my mother always tells us we can not succeed in life untill we are ready to be diligent and dedicate our time and energy for things we desire to own. Because of my mother's approach we have never failed in hard times and was able to accomplish the things we desired to get. On the other hand if parents and tutors confidence in child's ability is more than needed, that would lead to the isolation of child from external world. Therefore that could have negative impact on kid's psychology. As a consequence children avoids spending time with their friends even family members as the pressure increases. For instance my unckle often says his children that they get the things they need when they try hard enough for them and they sometimes misunderstand their father and avoids him. To conclude I firmly believe that there both advantages and disadvantages of telling child being hard working. The most obvious pro of that method is teaching them to adapt easily and the number one drawback is that it makes child more lonely.