Factors which influence our consumer choices: celebrities or peer presure

Factors which influence our consumer choices In recent years, there seems to be a discussion on whether celebrities or peer pressure influence more our consumer choices. Moreover, this has become more evident to me after attending a discussion on the matter. For me personally, the more influenceable individuals are, the more dependents to material things they are likely to be. For this reason, the main question is which is the most significant factor on influencing consumer habits? To start with, following celebrities on social media or television is, in all likelihood, the most important part to be considered. To name but a few, a device or video game recommended by a famous person as Lady Gaga can become trendy. This can be considered a downside when is related to a lack of autonomy of the fan who follows her and to huge consumerism. Nevertheless, it can also an upside if the person is not a fanatical and just enjoy the products promoted by the famous one with pleasure and balance. In addition to this, peer pressure might be of paramount importance influencing consumerism habits. But the way of illustration, youngsters need to be part of an urban tribe, if someone of this group recommend a short of specific mobile phone, all of them will want one. While I can understand that these years are supposed to be an impressionable period in human beings, in my opinion, something along the lines of implementing emotional and ethical skills about consumerism should be considered since school in order to gain self-confidence and learn healthier habits of consume. In light of the above, I hold the view that if we were to tackle these issues individuals will be more conscious about what they consume. However, due to its direct impact in society, I will pay greater attention to the way we change our materialist costumes bases on celebrities appearance and recommendations.