Some people think that young people should be required to work for a year before they go to university. Such work gives young people valuable knowledge of the world, which in turns helps them to appreciate their studies and decide what they want to do in life. However, there are those who argue that going to university immediately after school is a much better option.

In recent years, it is undeniable that a plethora of young people are having a tendency to go to university after working for many years. Some people believe that working experiences help young people accurately appreciate their ability before choosing what they are able to study. Even so, there are some arguments that young people should start their studies immediately for a higher education system. This essay below discusses both the positive and negative side of this trend. It is undeniable that there are numerous advantages to a break after high school. Firstly, young people have better real life experiences in the gap year, which can help them to decide exactly what profession in the future. A break period after studying in secondary school has been beneficial for youngsters. They can spend time traveling which is helpful to attain social knowledge. Initially, by visiting places, individuals will be exposed to diverse cultures, traditions and a wide variety of people. They have been fully matured to join the university. For instance, a recent survey has indicated that almost all youngsters have a break period before going to tertiary, they have a better result in their studies. Notwithstanding having benefits of this trend, there are few drawbacks in spending time for work or tour before studying at tertiary. Some young people remain childish in thinking and behaviour after finishing secondary school. As a result, youngsters start to earn money through work, they may incline toward bad habits such as smoking, alcohol consumption, drug addiction and so on. Otherwise, If they have a tour, they will not have experiences to deal with difficult problems in some cases. For instance, some newspapers have reported that few youngsters cannot survive themselves when they face many difficulties such as lost their way in remote areas. To recapitulate, taking a gap year is an individual decision. Although it is true that there are many beneficials to having a work or tour before continuing to study in university. Besides, there are some drawbacks for this trend. I consider that it is a personal choice whether to take or not.