In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

One inspiring message that adults tell to children is that they could achieve anything if they work hard enough. By giving this message to kids, there are advantages and disadvantages as children can interpret it in misleading ways and might result in inappropriate actions when they grow up. When kids heard this message, they could be inspired by it as they will believe that they have to try hard in order to get what they want. This creates motivation for them and increases dedication in the work they are doing which might produce good results for them. For example, they are told to get snacks if they study hard enough, these children would be motivated to study as best as they can to get that prize. Most parents might start saying like this to their own children hoping them to get better grades for their future, but not much children would know the true significance of studying hard other than getting snacks. After these children grew up, they will practiced being motivated in all things that they do resulting in work dedication and being careful to get prizes; not snacks anymore, but reputation or the result that they hope it would be as they want it, they will do anything to get it. Although, previous scenario might be good, it also has another way as children can be too focused on getting what they want at the cost of anything, they can do anything. In fact, this is more dangerous and riskier than having advantages as children will start their bad behaviors and throw tantrums if they are at a young age. They might try their best to get the wanted prize, but his act might end up being an illegal act which comes from children growing up with a bad mindset. There is another way to this as well as children might be motivated by it but not end up in bad actions, but instead they make themselves too stressful as they believe that they will achieve the targeted goal if they work hard. However, life isn’t sprinkled with rose petals, and what they want might not come true which makes them even more stressed and tend to think badly about themselves that they are not able to achieve the goal while others can. If this continues, it is also a bad situation as they will love themselves less and have less self-confidence harming their mind and physical health. This proves that from one sentence with the aim of motivating children can lead up to many good and bad situations as the message is unclear and anyone can think of different definition for themselves In conclusion, telling children that they can get anything as long as they try hard might not be the best way of motivating them to do what they should do. Instead, telling other messages or explain to children the meaning and the aim of the message as well as keeping track of them and counsel them when they started to show stressful symptoms or emotions, or even a little praise would be a better way to motivate them to avoid them facing these problems and to strengthen them for the future bad situations that may happen in their life, so that they can cope with it and live with it without being too focused on something that might weighs down their life.