Companies should provide sports and social facilities for local communities. To what extent do you agree?

Arrangement of recreational activities including games and sports is supposed to be delivered by the companies in the respective neighbourhoods. This essay will argue why it falls under companies’ responsibility to serve local community regardless of their incapability of doing so. Companies, private or government owned, usually use local manpower and infrastructure to gain profit so it is their duty to serve respective neighbourhoods. As delinquency has been a rising problem nowadays, local companies ought to deliver a solution to this. For example, companies can arrange sports tournament as well as improve the local park in order to keep young boys and girls busy and help locals to get rid of their sedentary lifestyles. Furthermore, companies, using their reputation can invite sports champions or figureheads to inspire young population so that the message may well get through to them. Therefore, being a responsible advocate for social awareness, companies should serve their duty by improving sports and social facilities. On the other hand, private companies whose branches are countrywide, could argue about the responsibility. Although, they use the local infrastructure, but they are returning the favour by employing local people. In their opinion, government owned companies should step up and improve the lifestyles of local people as they are getting benefited by the local tax payers. For instance, a recent study from Harvard University suggests that government owned profitable organizations own two-third share of 80% local parks in Ohio State. So, according to some say, private and government owned companies should share the responsibility to detoxify lifestyles affected. In conclusion, this essay discussed that companies should take necessary steps to ameliorate effects of delinquency by improving recreational infrastructures despite of their ownership status. In my opinion, I completely agree with the notion that local communities should get benefited and local infrastructure including sports and social facilities should be provided by companies