Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is an ongoing debate that developing rail networks is a wise decision or building of roads. Personally, I agree with the idea that investment should be spent on railway lines because it is more beneficial for all segments of society. On the one hand, I agree that the usage of cars is more flexible and time-saving. By using personal cars, someone can stop anywhere at any time. People can put all their stuff in a car; they do not need to carry the burden of luggage. Moreover, people can go to their workplace or anywhere they want to go; they do not need to stop their car at every stop like a train. In this way, cars give ease to people commute, and wider roads could compensate for a lot of cars on the road. Nevertheless, I believe that railways save the environment from air pollution and save us from traffic congestion and accidents. A lot of cars on roads emit carbon dioxide in the air, which leads to air pollution, but if they travel through rail, the number of cars reduce on roads, so lesser amount of carbon dioxide released in the air; by this, air pollution would be controlled. Furthermore, by reduction of cars on roads, due to travel by train, there will not be a traffic jam, and if there is less congestion on roads, the risk of accidents could also be minimized. Thus, rail tracks and travel on them is better. In conclusion, despite all the benefits of building up roads for cars, I believe that investment in railway lines and travel by train is more environment friendly, and also reduces injuries by accidents if there are more cars on roads.