In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

The notion of people can accomplish anything is being taught to children in many cultures. There are many benefits to belive this. However, there is also a negative side to this. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this belief. The main positive of teaching this is that it motivates children to work hard because if they believe that anything they can dream is achievable, it motivates them to work harder and harder. Another upside is that children set very high goals. For instance, some children might set a goal of being the wealthiest person in the world, and the path of achieving that goal if that fails in the middle gives them a reason never to get disappointed because one day they can reach their dream. On the other hand, this can bring many drawbacks also. For example, this leads to children setting unrealistic goals to achieve. For instance, there might be some children set a goal of getting the first grade in the country in the subject which the children is not good at. Also, if they can not achieve the dream they have, then this sentence makes them believe that the reason behind them not achieving their goals is themself not good enough, and every other people can make this happen, which may make children depressed and hate themselves. In conclusion, despite having a positive attitude towards working for their dreams, it also leads children to feel bad about themselves if they can not achieve their goal.