In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other what are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

Healthy competition among children is positive but overemphasis on competing with each other could be harmful to the holistic development of children. I think parents should follow a balanced point of view while encouraging competition among children. If we see the positive aspect of competition, it is key to be better. Children improve their study habits by imitating their peers. They try to be good in sports when the competition will urge them. A recent study also shows that there is a direct correlation between competition and motivation. Students find themself more motivated when they learn in an institution, where healthy competition among students is encouraged. If we closely observe the negative effect of competition it is a vivid fact that competition creates tension and in some extreme cases depression. These problems lead children to psychological problems and decrease their learning ability. Student's memory does not work at the optimal level in an intense competition. Strict competition deprived students to find their natural interests and aptitude. So, if we carefully sum up our discussion we can conclude that competition is positive in some sense but when it reaches an insane level it could be more harmful than productive.