In some countries, young people often decide to work or travel for a time before they start their university studies. what are the advantages and disadvantages

Graduating from high school might be a huge milestone for many people. High school graduates in several countries tend to take this stage to explore new experiences before they continue their studies as they have succeeded to finish their long years of struggle. Working and traveling are the most common activities these young people choose when taking a break after graduation. In this essay, I will be discussing the advantages and disadvantages of working and traveling for a time before going to university. Part-time working or internships are popular among people who haven’t taken any job in their lifetime. As a first-time jobber, working as a part-time employee or an intern seems to offer a wide array of learning opportunities, such as time management, teamwork, communication, etc. According to my experience, for example, on top of getting another source of income, being an intern in a startup company has a definitive advantage of learning to manage my time in a fast-paced environment. Nevertheless, there is a chance that you become overly focus on work and get swamped by the tasks which cause you to forget to prepare to continue your study. Another favorable option during study break is traveling. Traveling is the perfect option for young people who need a sort of refreshment from all the hustle in high school. Besides helping you clear your mind, it also has the benefit of gaining new perspectives from a plethora of people you meet and places you go. However, a major drawback of this activity is that you may be going to enjoy it too much thus be reluctant to start your university preparation. To conclude, there are both positive and negative aspects of taking a gap year after high school graduation to work or travel. I personally prefer to continue our studies first before we try these activities since the disadvantages appear to outweigh the advantages.