In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot ofpressure to work hard on their studies. What do you think are the causes ofthis? What solutions can you suggest?

Some young people find themselves with very little leisure time. I believe there are two main causes of this situation. The first parental pressure and the second is competition for university places. Every parent wants to see his or her child do well in school and go on to have a successful career. This means that they exert pressure on their children to spend hours each day studying at home. Some even arrange extra tuition for their children. In my own country, it is not uncommon for young people to spend another three hours at small private schools after their usually day at state school is over. As a consequence, their leisure time is extremely limited and the pressure on them is considerable. The second cause is related to the higher education system. Each year, there are many times more applicants to university than there are university places. The result of this is that only those students with very high grades manage to obtain a place. This contributes to the pressure on teenagers, since they must work long hours to have any chance of success. One solution to the problem is for parents to be made aware of the effects of the pressure they put on their children. Schools should inform parents that too much pressure can lead to anxiety, stress and depression. They should be shown ways in which they can help their children lead more balanced lives, with a reasonable amount of leisure time. Another effective measure would be for the government to invest in the creation of more university places. This could be done by expanding existing universities or by building new ones. This wou ld have the effect of easing competition for places, giving teenagers some of their precious free time back.