In some countries, young people are encouraged to work and travel for a year finishing high school and starting university study. Discuss advantage and disadvantage for your people who decide to do it.

In certain nations, working or traveling for one year before enrolling in a university is becoming increasingly popular among youth of today after completing their high school studies. This essay will delve into both the benefits and drawbacks of this situation. To commence with, working after high school enables learners to get valuable work experience which can propel their career. To put it simply, when pupils work or travel, can find great opportunities to interact with people from different walks of life and tackle enormous life challenges. Such experiences assist them to overcome the inevitable difficulties they are supposed to face when they eventually start working. Several studies, for instance, have proven that students with prior work experience or global exposure have a greater chances of growing fast in their future career inspite of those who lack one or both of them. Obviously, taking a gap year after high schooling makes them omniscient. In contrast, this method of taking a year off leads to break the rhythm of studies. This is because, some students may find working more interesting when they start earning. In turn, they will give less significance to their studies. Unfortunately, this hurts their career prospects. In other words, without having good academic qualifications, it is nearly impossible to find a good job or build a successful career; thereby, this might put them in more dangerous situations like they may get involved in illegal activities such as selling drugs and perpetrating crime. To conclude, although there are several merits of traveling or working after high school, in my opinion, it is deleterious for those who fail to continue their studies just because of more inclination towards earning.