In some countries, the retirement age has been delayed so older people can continue working. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

As the healthcare sector improves, life expectancy is getting longer. This encourages some countries to extend their retirement age and allow older people to work past retirement. Although some may consider this as a negative development, I believe that the advantages are greater. To begin with, delaying retirement age may have some detrimental impacts on older people and society. One argument commonly put forward is that older employees may develop some health issues, which can have a damaging effect on their performance. Because of deteriorating physical condition, older workers may have difficulty fulfilling their duties, especially those which require more time and effort. For instance, in some countries with a rapidly aging population, older workers have to reduce hours of work as mental and physical capacity has decreased. Another point to consider is that delayed retirement might have a negative effect on youth employment since there are only limited job vacancies for younger applicants. Hence, working past retirement age may worsen older people’s work self-efficacy and economy. Despite the arguments mentioned above, I contend that prolonged retirement has more advantages. Contrary to the belief that delayed retirement worsens old people’s health, working past retirement age may help older people live longer because of social engagement. As senior citizens are more socially engaged at work, they do not feel isolated and this helps them avoid serious mental illnesses such as depression. In addition, extending the retirement age allows older people to be financially independent. Since old workers have regular income, they feel more empowered and they save more money for emergencies. As a matter of fact, studies suggest that late retirement could increase retirement income to almost 10%, making them economically self-sustainable even when they leave work. Therefore, delayed retirement enables older workers to be financially secure and healthier. In conclusion, although retiring late poses some disadvantageous effects on old people’s health and on the labor force, it seems to me that the benefits of late retirement far outweigh the drawbacks. Even though there are some limitations to delayed retirement, it cannot be denied that working past retirement age can help older workers to have financial security and encourage them to stay healthy.