In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home.

This essay discusses the connection between shootings and ease of access to guns. It argues that having higher amounts of guns at home, leads to an increase in gun violence. Gun right activist tend to argue that it is not guns that are killing people, rather people are killing people. This is certainly the case; however, it misses the important connection between having access to guns and committing violent acts. It is true that People do not become violent because of guns, but if they have access to firearms, then they can act on these violent impulses. The root course of the aggression might be mental illness, but easy access to firearms is what directly leads to shootings. However, this problem is not so simple. Looking at the example of Switzerland, which has a similar gun per capita rate as the US but almost no shootings, it is clear that the connection between the number of guns and violent shootings is not so simple. The main difference is that in Switzerland it is harder to gain access to guns compared to the US. Background checks and other mitigation methods help keep guns out of the hands of those, who would commit such violent acts. It is also important to mention that gun culture can play a significant role in gun violence. Switzerland for example has a much healthier gun culture than the US, helped by the fact that most citizens have served in the military. This leads to gun owners taking better care of their weapons, making sure that they are safely stored for example. In conclusion, the number of guns leads directly to an increase in gun violence. But mitigation efforts such as background checks can help with this issue.