Essay on whether advertising encourages an individual to buy products or items that they might not really need

I agree that advertising encourages an individual to buy products or items that they might not really need. Humans are by nature curious animals and advertisements are displayed in such a manner that piques our curiosity. For example, the previous day while I was scrolling through my Instagram feed, I noticed an item labelled as a banana bread carrier. Just by seeing the item, my curiosity was aroused. I wanted to know more about the product and clicked on the advertisement. Before I knew what I was doing, I had already ordered the item even though I had never previously baked any banana bread. Similarly, if an item is being advertised in relation to a television program, there is a high tendency that the item although not needed, may be purchased by over 60% if its viewers. Items associated with the television show, Friends, is such an example. Even though people already own enough clothes, they go out of their way just to purchase an additional sweater if it contains an image of the the characters. This is another example of advertisements encouraging humans to purchase products that ae actually not needed by them. It is true that advertisements inform us about new products. The previous example used regarding the banana bread carrier is such a new product that may slightly improve a bakers life. However, it is a clear example of an item that is not at all required for the daily functioning of human beings. Thus, not all new products that are novel, improve our lives. We should watch advertisements but make careful judgements before purchasing an item as all advertisements are aimed at making a sale regardless of whether the product is necessary or not.