In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems, and what measures could be taken to solve them?

These days how to maintain a healthy life style has become a hot potato. People are becoming overweight due to lack of exercise, which has caused great concerns for mankind. This essay will explore the main causes associated with this issue, and outlines some practical solutions to deal with. The first and perhaps the most important reason is the rise of sedentary lifestyle, mainly due to the technological advancements. Technology has had an impact on mostly every aspect of our life. In other words, the widespread use of modern machineries, such as self-cleaning robots, washing machines and apps to order food, constitute a trend towards a passive life style. People used to participate in outdoor activities or take up a trip to the cinema in the past, whereas they now tend to chat with friends, watch TV shows on Netflix and play video games online. They are also reluctant to set aside some time to exercise. Consequently, they become prone to obesity and its related diseases, like diabetes. Therefore, serious attempts to halt this issue must be made. Having identified the root of the problem, a good remedy to cop with this matter would involve individual initiatives. People are at least dimly aware of the health risks that contributes with the reliance on technology. Furthermore, one solution to tackle this issue would for people to allocate more time to doing regular exercise or joining up a sport team. Even though having countless apps and devices at our fingertips has caused deleterious effects, using gadgets such as Fitbit or Apple Watch in order to gain health insights can encourage a healthier lifestyle. To conclude, a world without technology is not feasible, but it is possible to limit one’s exposure to raise the quality of life by keeping fit and avoiding health scares.