In some countries, shopping online is replacing shopping at store.

In present-day society, in some parts of the globe, shopping online has experienced an unstoppable rise in popularity and is gradually eclipsing brick-and-mortar shopping. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of this phenomenon. On the one hand, this trend has a whole host of benefits. First and foremost, shopping on virtual platforms might offer buyers a great degree of convenience, which helps them be able to make buying decisions regardless of time and geographical locations. With just a couple of mouse clicks, purchasers can set aside a wealth of time since they have things delivered to door instead of squandering time moving to brick-and-mortar stores. Secondly, customers have more opportunities to purchase commodities at bargain prices in light of the fact that sole traders do not need to splurge on rents or staffing. Therefore, more often than not, they offer periodic sale to seduce more consumers, which leads to an increase of profit. On the other hand, the drawbacks of shopping on the Internet cannot be denied. The first disadvantage worth mentioning is that the delivered items might not live up to shoppers’ expectations. To generate more profit, the idea that proprietors sell low quality products, even inauthentic ones, is inevitable. This may result in customers’ frustration as their time and money are squandered on something they are not satisfied with. Another noteworthy limitation is that consumers may be at risk of falling victim to hi-tech crimes who take advantage of the process of online transactions to make money. As a sad truth, e-commerce has been a breeding ground for cybercrimes as not every online customer knows how to protect their personal information. In conclusion, despite a plethora of upsides, shopping online may both have some notable downsides.