In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some regions of the world people consider it crucial to own a dwelling rather than rent it. This must be primarily because such a property gives a sense of stability, both financial and psychological, but may also be due to social conventions. In my opinion, this situation is positive since owners take better care of their homes than renters, and without the need to pay rent or mortgage can devote their time and money to other useful activities. First of all, people tend to prefer living in a house or apartment of their own because in this case they are not obliged to pay a large sum of money every month, be it for rent or mortgage. This, in its turn, lowers the chance of a lack of monetary resources and resulting debts, which consequently reduces the levels of stress. Therefore, real estate owners live more happily and sustain hope for a secure future. Another factor is that in many communities having a dwelling in their possession is regarded indispensable to any respectable person. That is to say that renters may be given a low social status and face discriminatory attitudes, such as being at a disadvantage while applying for a job. Whichever reasons motivate people to buy their homes instead of renting, this tendency is surely positive due to the associated stability. When people own their homes, they are much more keen to keep them in the best condition possible because they do not tend to relocate often. So, they refurbish them regularly, install technologically advanced equipment, and look after their gardens and neighbourhoods. In addition, they can volunteer in their free time to help the community, or donate money to charity, because they do not need to work day and night and spend most of their money for their homes. All of this brings benefits not only to them personally but to the society as a whole. In conclusion, people may find a number of motives to buy their homes, including stability and social pressure, and the fact that this happens increasingly often is undoubtedly positive as it leads to happier people living in better conditions.