When working on a project, it is better for classmates or colleagues to communicate face to face than sending emails.

During working on a project with classmates or colleagues, it is always necessary for us to communicate with others for various purposes, such as for discussing a problem, for making a plan, for assigning jobs, or for checking the progress. Currently, communicating face-to-face and sending emails earn their prevalence among all kinds of communicating methods. However, which one is better? In my opinion, there is no unified answer to this question. These two communication methods are both tailored to certain situations. Therefore, our choice should also change from situation to situation, but always benefits the project we are working on. On the one hand, communicating face to face possesses many advantages over sending emails, which gives it top priority in some conditions. Foremost, it saves time. When communicating face-to-face, you can get response immediately within several seconds. In contrast, between sending out an email and receiving the reply is always up to several hours. Communicating face-to-face spares much time for us to focus on what really benefits the project. Moreover, communicating by mouth also provide us sufficient opportunities to fully develop our ideas. You can conduct so intensive talking with a person standing in front of you that hundreds of words are said and heard just in several minutes, while an email of the same number of words often takes you more than a half hour to edit. The sufficient communication provided by talking face-to-face effectively reduces the teammates’ misunderstanding, some of which might be disastrous to the whole project. Therefore, if you need to get reply immediately, or you are discussing a very complicated problem, why not go in front of him or her and talk face-to-face? Do not be shy! On the other hand, sending email is a better choice than communicating face to face in other conditions. Above all, emails serve as the record of communication, which is often helpful. When a participant in communication forgets some details, s/he can read the email to recall them. In addition, email is more formal than talking. As to important decisions, such as project plan, job assignment and appointment, email is the best choice, on the ground that emails record them in the form of text, which allow us to check in the future. Finally, some projects’ teammate may distribute in different locations, so that it is impossible for them to communicate face-to-face. In such condition, sending email is their only choice. In conclusion, both communicating face-to-face and sending emails function as methods to exchange information. Our choice between them varies from person to person, form situation to situation. There is no better one, but just more suitable one.