The reading materials chosen by students on their own is more important than those assigned by their teachers.

During academic study, we need read diversified materials to master the knowledge instructors taught in class, such as textbooks, papers, lecture notes, webpages or slides. Many students are used to the materials handed out by teachers, while others manage to search materials for themselves. As for me, I use both materials chosen by teacher and myself at the mean time. I hold a view that the materials chosen by teacher is no less important than ones chosen by students themselves. On the one hand, materials chosen by students is more customized to them. What students choose is definitely what they are interested in. They can find their passion in those materials so that they will more concentrate on them and enjoy reading. Take me as an example: I’m much more inclined to be diverted from that chosen by teacher but boring materials. In addition, we may be curious about some questions instructors don not cover in classes. That’s when we have to search for information by ourselves. Independently searching for academic materials is a basic skill for a self-motivated student who plans to devote himself to scientific career. I encourage them to find their way to fulfill their personalized curiosity. As Albert Einstein said, the important thing is not to stop questioning, curiosity has its own reason for existing. On the other hand, teachers is an expert in their field. They had a better judgment than students. They know what students really need to learn, so the materials chosen by them are all essence of this course. Those materials help us save much time, which we may spend on useless material. Moreover, many of them have been teaching a certain course for several years. During long-time teaching, materials may have been reviewed and filtered by them for many times. They are always removing old-fashioned materials and adding new ones, directed by the goal of the course, to maintain the high quality of their materials. The time a teacher spends on this activity is unimaginable for an individual who just study this course for a semester. To sum up, I think materials chosen by teachers and those chosen by students are equally important. They both has their own advantages over each other.