In some countries, loneliness and isolation amongst older people is increasing and leading to mental health issues. What do you think are the causes of loneliness and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Isolation and loneliness amongst older adults are on the rise and often result in psychological issues for them. I will discuss some reasons for this unfortunate trend and will present some ideas on tackling the problem. There are many causes for the rise of mental health issues in the older population. Firstly, people are living longer these days thanks to medical advancements and improved living circumstances. As a result, more people are reaching advanced ages than ever before, but fewer young people are taking care of them. Often the elderly end up in aged care facilities, where they – removed from the bustle of everyday life – live a sheltered but lonely life. Another reason for the rise in mental health issues amongst the elderly is the switch from the traditionally large, multi-generational family to the small, nuclear family. Where once it was the norm to care for the ageing, nowadays this chore is outsourced. The results are busy aged-care facilities, run by underpaid staff, and – sadly – lonely elderly people living there. There are some compelling solutions for this issue. Firstly, the government should prioritise age-work and cultivate programs to engage young people visiting aged care facilities. As a result, the elderly will benefit from having younger people to interact with. More specifically, the young people could take the elderly for a weekly walk through the neighbourhood, read them a book, or engage in conversation. Secondly, families who decide to look after an elderly relative should receive support. Committing to caring for an older person might seem overwhelming for many families, but knowing that help and support would lighten the load and make this a more realistic option. In conclusion, the rise of a mental health crisis amongst the older population is undeniably caused by a change in society, but we must find ways to deal with it. Spending more time with the elderly and interacting with them in meaningful ways is one of many solutions to consider.