IN SOME COUNTRIES IT IS THOUGHT ADVISABLE THAT CHILDREN BEGIN FORMAL EDUCATION AT FOUR YEARS OLD, WHILE IN OTHERS THEY DO NOT HAVE TO START SCHOOL UNTIL THEY ARE SEVEN OR EIGHT. HOW FAR DO YOU AGREE WITH EITHER OF THESE VIEWS?

Nowadays, there has been much discussion concerning the appropriate age of children to attend formal courses. Some nations encourage their citizens to start joining formal education at four years old. Nonetheless, others believe that the most suitable age for children to study in school is up to seven years old. I agree with the latter view due to some reasons that will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, some people claim that acquiring formal education in the early age is essential due to some benefits. First of all, toddler attending kindergarten will have better social skills because they will meet new friends, start to build relationship, and learn about teamwork in schools. Those merits could not be derived from their homes due to the different circumstances, where they only communicate with their immediate families. Furthermore, education institutions have a strict guideline to teach their pupils related attitude, and thus children will become more discipline and more polite. Nonetheless, I disagree with those aforementioned arguments. I believe that children below seven years of age need more flexible time to play with their parents, which could be cut off if they should be in schools. First, spending much time with their parents, will contribute to the development of their cognitive skills. Research depicts that children playing and studying with their parents in the early age have better critical thinking to solve various types of problem. Moreover, the emotions of children under seven are not stable yet, and therefore they should be taught patiently with an affection. Parents are the most suitable educators for their offspring because they can be generously patient to teach them. In conclusion, some countries have advised their younger residents to acquire formal courses in the very young age because they could enhance their social skills and attitudes. Nevertheless, I disagree because children under seven years old need to spend longer time with their parents, and I believe parents are the best educators for them.