In some countries, it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Over the past few decades, several countries have introduced different education policies for their students. While many countries prefer the parents to enroll their children in schools at the age of seven, others suggest that schooling should be started at the age of four. This essay will discuss both views and my support for the policy that recommends parents to admit their children in schools at the age of four. On the first hand, the policymakers of the countries that advocate the beginning of formal education of children at the age of seven or eight might argue that children at this age become mature enough to handle the peer pressure and decide between right and wrong. As a result, the children become able to understand the basic concepts of related subjects and overcome the exam pressures more efficiently than those who begin their formal education at the age of four. To illustrate, a child who is being taught mathematics at the age of four might find it very difficult to understand, which can result in his demotivation and ultimately hatred towards learning in future. On the other hand, I support the view that children should be admitted into schools at the age of four because this aids the children to develop soft skills at a very young age. The reason for this is that leadership qualities, teamwork and communication techniques are considered equally important nowadays along with technical knowledge, and learning these skills at age of four or five allows the children to acquire them more efficiently. To illustrate, a recent survey by the University of Nottingham showed that most of the individuals who had their formal education started at the age of seven or eight years were prone to stage fright than those who began learning in schools by the age of four years. Therefore, it can be said that starting formal education at a younger age can result in better learning of soft-skills, which are considered indispensable these days to gain success. In conclusion, this essay discussed that some countries recommend parents to enroll their children in educational institutions when they gain enough maturity to handle pressure and understand technical concepts easily. However, I strongly suggest that children should be admitted in schools at a very young age, for which, this essay elucidated that soft skills are very pivotal in this modern era and young age helps the individuals to grasp these skills more effectively.