In some countries criminal trials are shown on television for the public do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

There has been a widespread argument spanning across several Nations that the legal proceedings and sentences of lawbreakers and felon be broadcasted for the Citizens to view. While this argument has its advantages and disadvantages, I am of the opinion that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, one of the justifications for broadcasting such serious court cases is that it can be used as an effective method of ensuring the Citizens act in accordance with the law of the Land. 9 out of 10 times whenever a prospective offender who may be at the planning or pre-execution stage of their crime, watches a similar felon being punished, they most likely would rethink or cancel their plan altogether to avoid such ill-fate. Although, an efficient method of curtailing crime; these televised sessions go ahead to affect more than just the accused. The friends and similar last name bearing family members are stigmatized within their communities for crimes they almost surely know nothing about. In the case of Ted Bundy the serial rapist and killer, his daughter had to drop her surname in favour of a neutral ridicule free one. Secondly, having said these, the safety of the Citizens of any locale should never be understated. Notinv this, creating public awareness of the progress of any such serious case through the use of visual aids like a television ensures that not only are the Residence cautious and at alert of the offense but they can, if the need ever arises, point out said offender from a lineup. This, if nothing helps Foster a sense of safety. For example, Nevada recently had a very public murder case which was cut short when the defendant escaped custody while being transported back to his prison cell. A two-day Manhunt was cut short when several eyewitnesses who had recognised him from the news called in with tips to help the police. To conclude, though the families of the accused ofen undergo slandering and ridicule, they do not deserve, the impact of publicising court cases far outweigh the drawbacks. Because the well-being and the projected reduction in crime rates make it an uneven balance in my opinion.