In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting? If voting is compulsory in a democratic society, what are some conclusions we can draw about the nature of democracy?

The impact of voting, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. While some people believe that voting is compulsory, others claim that this can bring problems than benefits. This essay will elaborate both sides of the debate and thus lead to a logical conclusion. At the outset, there are numerous reasons why voting should be compulsory, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that democracy gives many flexibility and power to an individual citizen to make rules, to choose their leaders and to make better future. Forcing them to do something they do not want is not really a democracy. An instance illustrating action is the fact that the survey conducted at the University of Canberra, which indicates that 60% of people in the Philippines prefer to be voting should be compulsory. Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that voting should not be compulsory. It is largely attributed to the fact that many of countries penalize their citizen for failing to participate in an election which does not seems right because people may not have an interest in politics or they are busy or they simply do not care whoever wins or loses. For example, the article published in the Times magazine, which clearly illustrates that the majority of citizen in Australia, prefer that it should not be compulsory. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, I strongly believe that democratic society should give the flexibility to choose whether their citizen wants to vote or not Despite that fact, voting of every citizen plays a crucial role to select the right person for a country. Overall, looking at the above arguments, I personally believe that voting should be made compulsory.