In Some Countries Around The World Men And Women Are Having Children Late In Life

Nowadays, it is common for many couples to have children in their thirties or even forties. We must understand why people all over the world are making the decision to postpone having babies. This essay intends to analyze some reasons why there has been an increase in this phenomenon, and identify the effects on society and family life. It can be seen that with advancement of education and lessening of gender discrimination, both men and women have their own independent careers. Women are earning stable income as well. So, both partners are able to contribute to family’s expenditure which is a must in today’s age when living expenses have sky rocketed. Furthermore, people want to save as much as possible before extending their family as it will lessen financial burden when a baby comes into their life. In order to do so, they have to delay the process of child birth. Lastly, with advance in medicine, it is now possible to have babies at an advanced age. There are many medical procedures such as IVF and IUI which help those who want to start their family at an advanced / later age. The most prominent effect of this situation is the increase in number of new parents in their late 30’s, 40’s and even 50’s. Old aged new parents might not be able to play with their young ones as they will feel less energetic, and oftentimes tired due to their low body metabolism. Secondly, by the time these babies are in their teens, these new parents will already have become old. Society will see a wide age gap between parents and children. Last but not least, women who have a baby in their older age might face more health complications than those who had a baby in their young age. Studies have proven that women’s overall health will deteriorate faster when they have children in older age, since human body’s healing mechanism slows down as one gets older. To conclude, despite the negative impact of having children late, there are been an increase of this practice. One must have children when the time is right for them because with the development of medicine what was once impossible is possible now.