In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn.

In various parts of the world, some people are in favour to have significantly higher incomes as it is beneficial for the government, while others deem that income should be decided by the law so that no one earn more or less than he/she deserved. On the one hand, earning a good amount of money might be beneficial for the human society and the government. Therefore, the higher the earnings, the more they would contribute in terms of taxes and donations and it will encourage the government to provide better funding for infrastructure, transport and healthcare benefits. For instance, Bill Gates, on of the top wealthiest persons in the world contributes as a philanthropist. Furthermore, it is by no means clear that every country is imposing such kind of income tax or every person is honest with their fellow citizens. On the other hand, there are professions which are entitled as the core components as they contribute their efforts, time and sometimes their lives. For example, teachers, policemen and soldiers are usually not paid enough because of no system to define pay scale. In contrast, actors and sports champions are paid with higher salaries, which is not favourable to the people who are contributing more as compared to the media celebrities. So the pay scale needs to be defined by the state or any authorized institution so that the salary would not be compromised and everyone earns what that individual is accounted for. In conclusion, while there are benefits of good earning, the lack of accountability is a substantial drawback. Having a defined slab of salaries seems to be beneficial for the countries and their citizens.