In some counties, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other older people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In developed countries people are independent from teenage and when they get older and start their retirement life alone, in some countries government made for them old home age where they spend rest of their life and caretaker look after them. This essay will discuss both views rather than whether they live there or they live with their families. In order to do that, I believe old people and parents are the blessing in our homes. But in some societies the values are different and they prefer to live separate and they don’t have a joint family system. Mostly they start job life from early age and they are less careful about their elders, in those countries the government takes care of them, pays old age benefits and makes old age home for their convenience. In addition, according to a survey in America almost 70% of their elder people live in home shelters and authorities take care of them. Because of that it is an extra burden on the state budget to keep separate amounts for that and pay the salaries for nurses and other staff for those old age homes. On the other hand, in the sub continent countries Joint family system is very common and people are happy to live with parents and take care of them and their health issues. It is also important for the parents and elder people they are blessed to live with children and get emotional and financial support from them. For instance, In Pakistan there is a department for old people called “Employee old age benefit” where they can get financial support after their job life. In conclusion, I think it is the responsibility of families to take care of their parents and support them in retirement life. Nevertheless, the Government has also taken the responsibility of elder people in the country and provided them good health benefits and financial support.