In recent years, university students have too much spare time and do not spend enough time on studying and researching. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

In recent years, university students tend to have much spare time for other activities instead of spending time on studying and researching. While there are some drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that it has more benefits. On the one hand, when university students do not spend enough time on their studies, some problems can be anticipated. Firstly, because of spending more time on other interests, they do not have sufficient time to study and prepare for the exams at universities. This leads to their destitute test results, which makes them lose motivation to study and not get the qualified degree as they want. In contrast, if they put more emphasis on their study, they will have excellent results and even have opportunities to get scholarships. Secondly, since university students do not focus completely on studying and researching, they are likely to miss the chance to deeply acquire academic knowledge of their majors. As a result, they can not gain enough fundamental understanding for their future careers. For example, a graduated student who lacks the necessary foundation will find it difficult to work in practice. On the other hand, I believe spending more spare time on other activities offers university students several potential benefits. Primarily, because much free time allows them to entertain or participate in many extracurricular activities, they have the chance to relax and develop their passion for what they are really into. For example, some university students find themselves unsatisfied with their majors and they choose to take part in music club or fashion club, where they can find someone to share passion with. As a result, they tend to be more positive and have more inspiration to study and work. In addition, if university students decide to spend their spare time finding a part-time job, they will have formative and memorable working experiences. Thus, they are likely to be highly appreciated by employers when entering the competitive labor market after graduation. In contrast, a full timetable of learning at universities prevents students from the opportunity to have practical experience which is truly useful in their future career. In conclusion, while the trend of not spending time on studying and researching among students has some drawbacks, I am in favor of the idea that its advantages are greater.