In recent years there has been a surge in the popularity of extreme travel to remote locations. What is the attraction of such experiences? How do they compare to more traditional holidays or types of travel?

There has been a significant growth in the popularity of extreme tourism to remote or unknown areas lately. What are the reasons for this growth? Which parts of extreme travel attract people, and does this new type of travel have any similarities and differences compared to a regular one? The first reason is that these brave travellers want to experience something exciting and challenging at the same time. For example, people who choose to visit the cage of death in Australia are really brave as they have to enter a clear cage made of acrylic with crocodiles nearby. Another reason worth mentioning is that these people also want to enjoy the magnificent and breath-taking natural scenery. Mountain climbers, for instance, can have panoramic views of the stunning surroundings as they climb up to the top of the mountain. Extreme tourism and traditional tourism not only have a lot in common but also have many differences as well. Both types of travel can help the travellers to explore new places, enjoy the scenery or even learn about the local’s heritage. However, traditional travel can be similar to holiday trips, where people can have relaxation time after intensive working time. Extreme travel can be more dangerous and thriller compared to regular one owing to the fact that the ones who participate in this type of travel can meet their deaths at any time if they loosen up their guard. In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that many more people are interested in extreme tourism than ever before. Each person has a different reason to answer the question why they want to travel to remote areas which can be dangerous for them.