In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

The popularity of used clothes among young people has been increasing these days. This is happening because of the scarcity of money and unemployment and I believe this trend is positive since it can decrease the environmental problems. The young people are facing financial difficulties these days because they are not getting jobs. In other words, the unemployment rate among youngsters has been increased drastically, and they can not afford to buy new clothes. Therefore, they prefer to buy cheap products, and second hand clothes are pocket friendly for them. For example, a recent survey conducted by the Guardian revealed that 55% of students in Canada admitted that they buy their clothes from the stores that sells used clothes because they do not have enough money to spend on new clothes. I believe that people buying second-clothes is positive because it can help to reduce environmental issues such as water pollution. That is to say, the chemicals used to produce clothes are very harmful to the environment. Many rivers are already polluted with these chemicals, and they are the reason for water pollution. Thus, if people begin to buy used clothes the production of new clothes will be reduced and this will result in reducing water pollution. For instance, a report published by the Times of India suggested that the chemicals used in manufacturing of clothes are the major reason for water pollution in some countries. In conclusion, the trend of buying used clothes has been increasing between the youngsters because they have a shortage of money due to unemployment and I think this is a positive development, as it will help in reducing environmental issues.