In recent years, there has been a growing debate as to whether critically endangered species of flora and fauna is the most pressing environmental problem of today. In contrast, other people hold the view that other issues like global warming, greenhouse effect. . . are more crucial. Therefore, in this essay, I am going to investigate these issues from both points of view.

In recent years, there has been a growing debate as to whether critically endangered species of flora and fauna is the most pressing environmental problem of today. In contrast, other people hold the view that other issues like global warming, greenhouse effect. . . are more crucial. Therefore, in this essay, I am going to investigate these issues from both points of view. On the one hand, there are variety of reasons why the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals because of some following reasons. The first reason is that many plants and animals have become nearly extinct because they have lost their habitat considerably. For instance, a rise in temperatures of the Arctic causes the sea ice to melt, which in turn destroys the habitat of polar bears. Second reason could be explained that human activities like deforestation, hunting and poaching, also cause the extinction of many already endangered species. In brief, we should protect wildlife habitats by decreasing greenhouse gas emission and creating natural reserves. On the other hand, it can be noted that there are more important environmental problems because of some following reasons. Firstly, global warming has the most drastic effect on the environment because of its terrible effects. A chunk of research shows that the incremental rise in temperature, particularly pertaining to ocean, has increased the frequency and intensity of earthquake, volcanic eruption, typhoon, tornado, hurricane, tsunami, blizzard. . . The earthquake unleashed a savage tsunami affecting Japan in 2011 is a particularly remarkable example. Secondly, greenhouse effect has increased mainly due to human activities such as clearing forests, burning fossil fuels. . . The increase in emission of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere will result in extreme drought, biodiversity, ecosystem and life of people is adversely affected… In short, efforts should be made to prevent the emission of greenhouse gases and more use of renewable sources of energy should be encouraged. In a nutshell, I would come up with the conclusion that both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, all things considered, it seems reasonable to assume that other issues like global warming or climate change is the thorniest problem due to its frequency and destructive power.