In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

Due to the world’s changes in demands, incomes and lifestyle of people, the family structure and the onuses of each member have been transformed these years. Likewise, both benefits and drawbacks go along with this. While extended families were noted in the past, nuclear families are now prevailing in society. Since the living costs experience an upturn day by day, families commonly consist of fewer than three generations living together to assure the quality of life. This influences parents to share responsibilities for maintaining their lives, supposing that the independence of women and men in their finances is equivalent. Supporting gender equality, both men and women can access education more equally compared to medieval periods, their children could be educated and taken care of thoroughly by both parents. Moreover, families are not dependent on their monarch, instead, the authority of decision making as well as daily activities are subdivided evenly for members in both genders. Besides, there are more families of a single parent in this modern world based on the high divorce rates. These parents would have to do the responsibilities of both parents in a normal family. The shifts of family structures and members’ roles have brought positive and negative impacts. Regarding the benefits, the age gap between members can be melted down, which helps reduce conflicts about either lifestyle or perceptions between young and old generations. Moreover, as the family size is reduced, it is easier for family members to manage their daily payments effectively. As mentioned about gender equality and decision making, family members can have two-direction communication while respecting each other, thus everybody can be involved in discussing and enhancing their unity. Considering downsides, it will be challenging for nuclear families that have parents working from nine to five to look after their children that might affect their education and health. In this place, traditional families could be privileged since grandparents can support parents to take care of children when their parents are busy. Likewise, the bonding between family members could be weaken because of different living.