In recent years, more people are choosing to read e-book rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often said that taking precautionary measures in dealing with diseases is a better approach than getting treatment after contracting one. Although this adage may be true, not all diseases can be prevented and therefore require treatment in order to be cured. This essay disagrees with this statement and will discuss why sometimes diseases cannot be prevented and hence research is necessary to cure them. There are a number of diseases that cannot be prevented through precaution such as measles, polio, chicken pox etc. Moreover, there are diseases which are genetically linked and people who have defective genes will contract these illnesses at some point of time. Therefore, in such cases, one has to visit a hospital and get necessary treatment in order to get cured. For instance, Type 1 diabetes, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s disease and certain types of cancers are hereditary and they can only be treated through medication and therapy. Without research, treatment for non preventable diseases will not be possible. In addition to that, there will always be a new disease outbreaks due to the evolution of bacteria and viruses. Recently, many people suffered from Ebola fever that led to the death of patients in severe cases. The causative virus also affects the development of the fetus in pregnant women. Therefore, we need to actively conduct research and arm ourselves to tackle unknown as well as non preventable diseases. To conclude, prevention should be practiced as a precaution to avoid getting sick, but this will not help us avoid certain illnesses which require medical intervention. Hence, research is absolutely required to develop vaccines, medicines and medical procedures to deal with genetically linked diseases and non preventable diseases.