In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages of reading e-books outweigh its disadvantages?

In today’s world, the number of people prefer e-books to printed ones is rising at an excessive speed. It raises a controversy among people, whether upsides of e-books can overwhelmed their downsides. From my point of view, I totally concur with the idea that e-books are more beneficial than harmful. There are several merits that e-books bring to human. Firstly, using e-books is convenient. The purchasing process for these products is simple and done online, which save people’s time and money for transporting and waiting. With an internet-connected device, people can read e-books wherever and whenever they wish. Unlike heavy paper books, e-books can be stored in a small smartphone, which just weights a few hundred grams. They also do not become old or easily spoiled by dirt, time or weather. Secondly, e-books are more eco-friendly in comparison with paper books. E-books need no natural resources to create while producing printed books means cutting down a great number of trees every day. The fewer paper is made, the more forest areas remain and the better quality of the environment. However, it is irrefutable that e-books have their own demerits. First and foremost, reading e-books for a long time does harm to people’s eyes. Blue light from digital devices is believed to damage vision and can accelerate blindness. Therefore, people who often read books online continuously in a long time might suffer short-sighted and many other eye disorders. This negative effect can be reduced by giving our eyes, short intervals while reading. Another problem of e-books is that they can be easily lost. The reading experience might get interrupted due to the attack of virus or errors of the system. Notwithstanding, this situation does not regularly happen, which has little impact on readers. In conclusion, reading e-books is like a double-sided coin which has both its owns advantages and disadvantages. It is convenient and eco-friendly, but it harms people’s eyes and can be easily lost. However, I firmly believe that the benefits of reading e-books convincingly dominate the drawbacks of it.