In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, more and more people read e-books instead of printed books. So, it is commonly believed that the advantages of reading online books outweigh the disadvantages of it. In my opinion, I believe that in the future all reading and studying will be online since it has many advantages. E-books are available to the readers just after publishing the book because people can purchase it online. So the reader can start the reading without waiting for the publisher to deliver the books, which is taking more than a month to ship from one country to other. Moreover, the user does not have to spend much on the e-books, when compared to the paper books since the material cost is low. The paper book includes material cost, delivery cost, and others charges, which are the reader does not really want to spend. One of the most advantages is that there won’t be any paper, plastic covers or any materials waste with the e-books. So, it will be more environment-friendly than printed books. In addition to that, these books have more user-friendly functionalities such as zooming, highlighting, and keeping bookmarks which is more convenient to the user. On the other hand, some people can make an argument that the initial cost for the e-reading will be high since the reader has to buy some electronic devices such as tablets or smartphones or computers. Also, they can counter-argue that the wastage of electronic devices is more harmful to the environment than the printed papers. In conclusion, I believe that people use electronic devices even though they don’t read any e-books. So, the cost for the devices and e-wastage will be there despite the reading. In my opinion, reading e-books has more advantages than the reading paper books, even though it leads to disappear paper books from the world.