International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Tourism has grown exponentially these days, international tourism is on rise and there are many advantages due to that for many tourist areas. Although there are some doubts about its effect on the local people and the environment. Despite the disadvantages there are many advantages because of the international tourism. In this essay, we will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of the international tourism. Travelling out of the country requires a lot of money and this money obviously goes to the recipient country. Tourism generates a lot of revenue to countries. For instance, I have a friend who works as a tour guide in our hometown which is quite a popular city for many international tourists. He has observed a significant change in his income, after the international tourists started visited the place. It’s a great opportunity for many people and also the government to improve their income. In addition, travelling also helps in exchanging the cultures of different countries. Every place has its own culture and values, tourism is a way which aids to exchange the culture and know about the people and their values. As an illustration, I would love tell about my experience which I had when I visited United States a few years back. It was quite shocking for me to see how different was their culture compared to ours, as the individuals start working from around 16 and they are not dependent on their family. It gave me a lot of confidence to be independent and start doing things on my own. Whereas, there are some concerns such as damage of the environment. As many people visit the tourist places, there may be a chance of pollution. It is the responsibility of the international tourists to cause less damage to the local environment. In conclusion, there are various advantages of international tourism which outweigh the disadvantages. The revenue generated, exchange of cultures are all benefits from the tourism, although there are disadvantages like damage to environment but they can be minimised with some effort from the tourists side.