In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Considering different thoughts and experiences regarding whether the shoppers' preferences changing toward big centers, which lead to the closure of minor shops in last years, is a good or an adverse development, In my view, it is a negative development which can make people jobless and also it may disappear competition. One serious quandary that can emerge from the closing of the small shops is that the competition between the small shops and the large shopping centers will disappear. As a result, the large malls will stop providing discounts on the goods as they do not face competition; therefore, they will not reduce the prices. For example, malls offer discounts throughout the year to keep their customers away from the small shops. Thus, the closure of small shops will affect the customers. Another issue is that many people will lose their jobs and become unemployed. In other words, when the small shops close, people employed by them will lose their source of income, and that will put them in a difficult situation. For example, many families run small shops to earn their living. When they go out of business, their families will struggle to survive. Finally, the closure of small shops in some areas will influence the tourism industry. Tourists usually prefer small shops in the streets instead of the big malls because they are habitual to shop in big malls in their developed countries and they want to change to see the small shop shopping. In conclusion, although it has become more accessible for people to do shopping in one large centre, the closure of small malls has brought too many problems for this to be considered a positive development.