In recent years, it is argued that books are no longer a great source of information and entertainment. Personally, I completely agree with the idea that books have lost their primary role in human lif

In recent years, it is argued that books are no longer a great source of information and entertainment. Personally, I completely agree with the idea that books have lost their primary role in human life. In this day and age, with the development of the Internet, people can gain information and knowledge so easily that they have grown less and less dependent on books. To begin with, individuals only need a smart device to access Information. This means that they do not have to waste too much money on buying an array of books. Furthermore, it is a common belief that searching information on the Internet is less time-consuming than reading books. To be specific, instead of carefully reading each page to find what they want to know, it is more efficient for Internet users to rapidly get available information with a few taps on their smartphone, which saves lots of their time and effort. In addition, the advent of the Internet together with many types of entertainment has made books pale in significance. First, it is undeniable that playing games or shopping have attracted more interest from the general public. In fact, both children and adults prefer surfing the Net to reading books. This is because they can easily relieve stress after studying or working but also interact with many people. Second, for those who love reading, traditional books are no longer an only option because of the introduction of e-readers which offer them a greater level of convenience as well as better reading experience. To be specific, some readers choose to read a wide range of books like comics and novels on mobile devices, which is easier to bring along and sometimes they do not need to pay for reading. In conclusion, it is obvious that books are failing to affirm their vital role to people. With the aggressive progress of technology, the public can simply update and find any information that they need.