In recent years a large number of highly skilled professionals like doctors, engineering and IT professionals from poorer countries are migrating to developed countries for better paying jobs. What are the possible problems of this and what solutions can you suggest to deal with this issue?

Over the last few years, brain drain has become a global issue, especially in many emergent nations around the world. In this essay, I will shed some light on the factors contributing to this issue and will also suggest some solutions for the same. It is apparent that white-collar workers are migrating from their underdeveloped nations to reside or work in a developed one; thereby, leading to two potential outcomes: negative impact on these countries’ economy and a decrease in experts in the developing countries, resulting in brain drain. For instance, recent World Migration Report reveals that India continued to top in the immigration and a plethora of doctors are applying for citizenship in Canada and USA. Moreover, migration slows down the economic rate of the developing country. For example, when a proficient engineer leaves their own country, the company will not be able to produce the desired revenue within time, which will ultimately affect the future growth of a country’s economy. There are many ways to reduce the migration problems. In order to stop brain drain, the concerned government should make the salary of professionals equivalent to what is being paid in developed countries. A recent study has concluded that hiking salary has helped in stopping professionals from emigration. Another possible solution is to provide better job opportunities to citizens. To exemplify, nowadays, many government and private sectors are allowing a specialized position for the experts, consequently, it has created more jobs allowing the professionals to stay with their family and earn. To conclude, even though emigration is a growing problem which leads to a decrease in the number of professionals and affect the economy’s growth, certain measures such as raising earnings and a good career opportunity are available which can prevent this from worsening.